Log in

Tonegato To Earn Sydney return as Aussie Womens Squad is Named for Sydney

Mon, 28/01/2019, 1:45 am
Rugby Australia
by Rugby Australia

The Qantas Australian Women’s Sevens team has been named for the HSBC Sydney 7s at Spotless Stadium at Sydney Olympic Park from this Friday February 1. 

Emma Tonegato will make her return to the playing field after last playing in the gold jersey at the Rugby World Cup Sevens in San Francisco. 

Sariah Paki will earn her second cap and play in back to back tournaments when the young forward runs out in front of her family and friends in Sydney, with Aussie 7s co-captain Shannon Parry having been ruled out with a shoulder injury she sustained last week. 

The squad is lined with four players in the squad who have five caps or less as the next generation of Aussie 7s talent emerges with injuries to Shannon Parry (shoulder), Demi Hayes (ankle) and Emilee Cherry being unavailable for selection throughout her pregnancy.

Qantas Australian Women’s Sevens Head Coach John Manenti said: “The team has prepared well over the last few weeks and we had a good hit out against each other last week in Sydney.

“It’s great to be welcoming back Emma (Tonegato) into the playing squad. Emma has worked incredibly hard throughout her rehab and she offers versatility for us, able to cover almost every position on the park.

“This squad always relishes playing in our home tournament and we’re looking forward to playing at Sydney Olympic Park this weekend.”

The HSBC Sydney 7s will have a host for other entertainment outside the Rugby to keep fans entertained including a host of DJs, kid zones, Food and drink areas and plenty of space to enjoy the Sydney 7s Festival.

Headline acts DJ Tigerlily, Tkay Maidza and L-Fresh The Lion lead a field of talented musicians and DJs who will be attending to add to the extensive entertainment offers for fans at the Sydney 7s.

Tickets for the HSBC Sydney 7s can be purchased through Ticketek.

Qantas Australian Women’s Sevens Fixtures
Friday 1 February

Australia v Spain, 1.50pm AEDT
Australia v China, 4.34pm AEDT
Australia v USA, 6.56pm AEDT 
All matches will be broadcast LIVE on FOX SPORTS. 

Qantas Australian Women’s Sevens Squad

1.Samantha Treherne, 13 caps, Griffith University
2. Sharni Williams (C), 30 caps, University of Canberra
3. Sariah Paki, 1 cap, Macquarie University 
4. Dominque Du Toit, 13 caps, Macquarie University 
5. Emma Tonegato, 24 caps, University of Adelaide 
6. Evania Pelite, 23 caps, University of Adelaide
7. Yasmin Meakes, 5 caps, University of Canberra  
8. Lily Dick, 1 cap, University of Queensland  
9. Emma Sykes, 13 caps, University of Tasmania 
10. Alicia Quirk, 28 caps, University of New England
11. Page McGregor, 6 caps, Macquarie University 
12. Ellia Green, University of Tasmania, 24 caps 

Sydney Sevens to return as 2022-23 World Rugby Sevens Series calendar is confirmed
The 2021 HSBC Sydney 7s is being cancelled. Photo: Getty Images
Media statement regarding 2021 HSBC Sydney 7s
Photo: Getty Images
Australia goes undefeated on day one of the HSBC Sydney 7s
Photo: Pechey Fires
Rugby Australia and World Rugby bolster support for Bushfire Recovery Appeal